I have had the wonderful experience these past few months of getting the opportunity to become involved in two not-for-profit organizations that help people in my community. I’ve had some things happen to me these past two years that have changed my outlook on life and in how I see the world.

I was the victim of domestic violence. (notice how I say WAS). It is something that I will never understand or ever come to terms with no matter how long that I am alive on this planet. It will take time for me to recover and even more time for me to be able to start trusting people again. It pains me to think of me as my former self. It’s like looking in the mirror and seeing someone possessed by a demon that is being controlled by a monster.

I could write a book on the things that have been done to me. People would either:

1. Not believe me

OR

2. Fall off of their chairs in shock and horror.

I feel a compelling, almost magnetic force, to want to make sure that what was done to me never happens to anyone else in this entire world. Ever. All human beings should have the right to live in peace, to live feeling safe, to feel like they can be loved and are loved. We hold the right to not have our personal possessions taken away from us, our self confidence stripped, our sense of who we are challenged to the point of not knowing who we really are or what we even stand for.

Go out and make a difference if there is an issue that you feel passionately about. Be the change that you wish see in our world and fight for what you believe in.

My change starts with helping to change the laws that protect human beings from abuse and unwarranted violence.

